Skip to content
Tags

GOT A CODE?

December 4, 2012

Got know code basics of movie going, so why not Cpu? I clinked this too. Find a computer science person, I would!

0000100001100000 Greek to me!

Should I Learn How To Code?

I was recently talking about some startup ideas with a friend of mine. After much discussion, we decided that we needed to enlist the help of a seasoned programmer. As neither of us had the required skill set to execute our idea, we would have to work with somebody who had the hard skills to develop our business.

This got me thinking about how essential it is to learn how to code given that I am an entrepreneur and want to create a startup.

Mayor Michael Bloomberg has even made it one of his personal goals to learn how to code.

Most people I’ve talked to tell me that the best way to start is to read lot’s of blogs and figure out what I need to learn. Others tell me that it’s easier to bring my business experience to the table and find somebody with a coding background to fill in the gap.

Two websites that I’ve looked into in terms of programming education are:

– Team Treehouse

– Lynda.com

Both websites have their strengths. Lynda.com being the bigger site has more selection and videos. Whereas Team Treehouse seems to focus specifically on web development and design.

I think that it’s important for me to know the basics so I can tell a software person what I need. If I had a lot of free time, I would sit down and learn as much as I could.

I’ll open this up to you to comment. What programming languages or coding skills do you think are important for a tech entrepreneur?

The Pinstriped Suit

programming

I was recently talking about some startup ideas with a friend of mine. After much discussion, we decided that we needed to enlist the help of a seasoned programmer. As neither of us had the required skill set to execute our idea, we would have to work with somebody who had the hard skills to develop our business.

This got me thinking about how essential it is to learn how to code given that I am an entrepreneur and want to create a startup.

Mayor Michael Bloomberg has even made it one of his personal goals to learn how to code.

Most people I’ve talked to tell me that the best way to start is to read lot’s of blogs and figure out what I need to learn. Others tell me that it’s easier to bring my business experience to the table and find somebody with a coding background to…

View original post 111 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

